Uploaded image for project: 'Plugins'
  1. Plugins
  2. CONTRIB-4645

choicegroup - students unenrolled from group when confirming choice

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Resolved
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 2.5.1
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Module: Choice group
    • Labels:
      None
    • Plugin Version:
      2013071000
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_25_STABLE

      Description

      In a Group Choice module, setup as follows:

      • limit the number of responses allowed: ENABLED
      • Allow choice to be updated: YES

      When a student makes a choice, he is enrolled in the correct group. When he is taken back to the group choice activity after the page "your choice has been saved", he sees his choice selected. If he does not change his choice, but clicks on "Save my choice" again, he will be unenrolled from the group of his choice.

      WHAT TO EXPECT:
      a student who sees his previous choice, and wants to confirm it, might click on "save my choice" again.

      WHAT HAPPENS:
      The "save my choice" button acts as the "remove my choice" link in this particular case

      (also, the "remove my choice" link woud be clearer if it showed as a button, but that's minor)

      TO REPRODUCE/
      1. set up a Group Choice activity with settings as follows;

      • choices: Group 1, Group 2, Group 3
      • limit the number of responses allowed: ENABLED
      • Allow choice to be updated: YES

      2. Log in as student and access the Group Choice activity. Select Group 1, then "save my choice". You get the "Your choice has been saved" page;
      3. Click "Continue"

      4. You are taken back to the group choice page. Do not change your choice, but click "save my choice" again. You get the "Your choice has been saved" page.

      5. Click continue: you now see that you have no choice selected.

      Students might want to confirm their first choice. If they don't do step 5 and just close the window, or if they don't check carefully, they migh miss the fact that they actually removed their choice.

      TIA for looking into this.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            • Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              3 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: