Details

    • Type: New Feature
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 1.8, 1.8.1, 1.8.2, 1.9, 2.0.2, 2.1, 2.2, 2.6, 2.8.1
    • Fix Version/s: 2.9
    • Component/s: Course
    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide

      pretty good covered by behat tests
      play around with deleting sections in topics and weeks formats, especially orphaned ones

      set format options to display one section per page. Make sure when you delete section you are returned to the course page, when you cancel deleting a section you are returned to the page where you previously were (course or section)

      Show
      pretty good covered by behat tests play around with deleting sections in topics and weeks formats, especially orphaned ones set format options to display one section per page. Make sure when you delete section you are returned to the course page, when you cancel deleting a section you are returned to the page where you previously were (course or section)
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_18_STABLE, MOODLE_19_STABLE, MOODLE_20_STABLE, MOODLE_21_STABLE, MOODLE_22_STABLE, MOODLE_26_STABLE, MOODLE_28_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_29_STABLE
    • Pull Master Branch:
      wip-MDL-10405-master

      Description

      This has been discussed before, notably in bug 2245. There is no way to delete a section (e.g. week or topic) from a Moodle course. There seems to be general agreement that this is A Good Thing, but I can't really see why. I understand the argument that you don't want the teacher deleting a populated section by accident, but you can't even delete an empty section.

      The usual workaround is to move the offending section to the bottom of the course page, and reduce the number of sections the course displays. However, bug 4719 indicates the drawbacks in this approach. If a teacher wants to add a new section by increasing this number, the "deleted" block reappears. This is irksome.

      If a teacher/editor has powers to delete a resource or activity, shouldn't they have the power to delete an entire section? You are asked for confirmation in cautionary terms every time you attempt to delete a resource, so why not have the same for a section, e.g. "Are you absolutely sure you want to completely delete the section 'foo'?"

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

          1. 01_current.png
            01_current.png
            70 kB
          2. delete.section.part1.diff
            9 kB
          3. delete.section.part2.diff
            3 kB
          4. MDL-10405.diff
            4 kB
          5. MDL-10405.full.diff
            9 kB
          6. mockup.png
            mockup.png
            73 kB
          7. option1.png
            option1.png
            71 kB
          8. option2.png
            option2.png
            72 kB

            Issue Links

              Activity

                People

                • Votes:
                  81 Vote for this issue
                  Watchers:
                  53 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  • Created:
                    Updated:
                    Resolved:
                    Fix Release Date:
                    11/May/15