Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-16824

Message: Orphaned unread messages when user deleted

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 1.9
    • Fix Version/s: 1.9.5
    • Component/s: Administration, Messages
    • Labels:
      None
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_19_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_19_STABLE

      Description

      If a user sends another user a message (for example a spammer on Moodle.org sending Matheu a message) and then that user is deleted before Mathieu reads the message, Mathieu continues to have the message window popup and has no way to indicate that he has read the message. In order to maintain the preservation of data for deleted users (in the case that the wrong user was deleted), I would suggest moving the unread messages (mdl_message) from a deleted user to the read mdl_message_read and setting the timeread to 0. In that way, if the user were to be undeleted we could then check and move anything in mdl_message_read to mdl_message where the timeread is 0.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                6 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                6 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Fix Release Date:
                  13/May/09