While deleting an empty user profile field category (Site admin -> Users -> Accounts -> User profile fields) the following confirmation message is displayed.
There is/are 0 field/s in this category which will be moved into the category above (or below if in the top category).
Do you still wish to delete this category?
If its an empty category either just say something like "are you sure you want to delete this category?" or just delete it.