Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-23306 META: Improve usability of new files structure for Moodle 1.9 users who want "Course files" back
  3. MDL-24390

Usability: Draft and requiring 'Save changes' in Site legacy files seems redundant/confusing

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Sub-task
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Won't Fix
    • Affects Version/s: 2.0
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Files API
    • Labels:
      None
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_20_STABLE

      Description

      I went to upload a system file (an image to be used by a theme) to the legacy files area. I clicked add, went through the upgrade, and saw the image listed on the list of legacy files and thought I was done. I did not realize that it saved it into a draft mode and that when I left the page my work evaporated. I'm not sure what the purpose/benefit of this draft mode is but it seems that requiring the user to hit save changes without much of a visual warning that they are in draft mode is going to cause some confusion. Usually when you upload a file and see it listed as an attachment then you are finished so this seems like strange behavior compared to the rest of Moodle file attachments. Peace - Anthony

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              Unassigned Unassigned
              Reporter:
              aborrow Anthony Borrow
              Participants:
              Component watchers:
              Matteo Scaramuccia, Andrew Nicols, Dongsheng Cai, Huong Nguyen, Jun Pataleta, Michael Hawkins, Shamim Rezaie, Simey Lameze
              Votes:
              3 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              2 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: