Moodle
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-26946

Option to hide participants in navigation block

    Details

    • Type: Improvement Improvement
    • Status: Open
    • Priority: Critical Critical
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 2.0.2, 2.2.2
    • Fix Version/s: DEV backlog
    • Component/s: Blocks, Navigation
    • Labels:
    • Environment:
      any
    • Database:
      Any
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_20_STABLE, MOODLE_22_STABLE
    • Rank:
      16577

      Description

      • Apologies in advance if there is a setting for this... I can't find one.

      The option to hide Participants link in the Navigation block - at individual course level is required.

      Use case:

      Course with unrelated users who do not need and should not have any access or information about other users.

      Currently there is no way* to restrict this access.

        Issue Links

          Activity

          Hide
          Alistair Cockroft added a comment -

          This issue currently means we have to hide the whole navigation block from users. We are a corporate organisation and use Moodle exclusively for managing our e-learning courses.

          Show
          Alistair Cockroft added a comment - This issue currently means we have to hide the whole navigation block from users. We are a corporate organisation and use Moodle exclusively for managing our e-learning courses.
          Hide
          Mike Walters added a comment -

          A way around this is to go to Site Admin > Users > Permissions > Define Roles and edit the role of Student.

          Turn on the Advanced settings and search for the word 'Participants' (there will be two entries). Set both to "Prevent" and save.

          The Participants links will still be there in the navigation block but a student will only be able to see their own account and no other.

          Show
          Mike Walters added a comment - A way around this is to go to Site Admin > Users > Permissions > Define Roles and edit the role of Student. Turn on the Advanced settings and search for the word 'Participants' (there will be two entries). Set both to "Prevent" and save. The Participants links will still be there in the navigation block but a student will only be able to see their own account and no other.
          Hide
          Michael de Raadt added a comment -

          Suggestions from duplicate issue:

          • new capability: see list of user
          • block settings: hide particiapnts list | hide blogs

          I would add a third option for a global setting in Site admin > Appearance > Navigation.

          If "participants" is removed from navigation, the other places around the site where user's can access the participants list (eg., People block, Online Users block should be reviewed at the same time. (Not a small issue.)

          Show
          Michael de Raadt added a comment - Suggestions from duplicate issue: new capability: see list of user block settings: hide particiapnts list | hide blogs I would add a third option for a global setting in Site admin > Appearance > Navigation. If "participants" is removed from navigation, the other places around the site where user's can access the participants list (eg., People block, Online Users block should be reviewed at the same time. (Not a small issue.)

            People

            • Votes:
              17 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              9 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated: