Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-27161

Show 'Require grading' Optional setting in Moodle 2 Assignment displays unhelpful message leading to possible lock out

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Critical
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 2.0.2
    • Fix Version/s: 2.0.4
    • Component/s: Assignment (2.2)
    • Environment:
      Moodle 2.0.2+ (Build: 20110330)
      php 5.3.3
      MySQL 5.5.9
    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide

      1. login as teacher
      2. select an assignment
      3. on the assignment page, click on 'View xx submitted assignments' link (top right)
      3. within 'optional setting' section, set 'show' to 'require grading' and save it

      If there are no assignment need grading, notification message will be display and 'optional setting' section is also display to allow user to change the value of 'show'. Otherwise, it will show student's assignment that need to be graded.

      Show
      1. login as teacher 2. select an assignment 3. on the assignment page, click on 'View xx submitted assignments' link (top right) 3. within 'optional setting' section, set 'show' to 'require grading' and save it If there are no assignment need grading, notification message will be display and 'optional setting' section is also display to allow user to change the value of 'show'. Otherwise, it will show student's assignment that need to be graded.
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_20_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_20_STABLE
    • Pull from Repository:
    • Pull Master Branch:
      MDL-27161_head

      Description

      With the Assignment module (Offline task) there are 3 Optional settings at the bottom of the 'View xx submitted assignments", i.e. the page where the teacher can see the list of students in order to grade them.

      The first of these three optiona is a drop-down memu: Show: which contains 3-choices: 'All / Submitted / Require grading'

      If teachers select "Require grading", they get this error message:

      "No users were found with permissions to submit this assignment"

      At this point, if a teacher clicks on the browser back button, and returns to the previous screen, he/she will see the list of all the students as before. HOWEVER, if he/she does something else, e.g. returns to the course page, he will be unable to see the list of students the next time she accesses the assignment since the optional setting for 'Show' will be locked in to "Require grading" resulting in the above error message.

      Note: clicking on the other 2 choices (All or Submitted) in the Show menu works as expected.

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

            Issue Links

              Activity

                People

                • Votes:
                  0 Vote for this issue
                  Watchers:
                  3 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  • Created:
                    Updated:
                    Resolved:
                    Fix Release Date:
                    1/Aug/11