Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-29466

Backup: "Include user role assignments" box has no effect

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Not a bug
    • Affects Version/s: 2.1.1
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Backup
    • Labels:
    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide

      1. As Admin, create a course, and enable the student self-enrolment method
      2. Manually add another user as a Teacher in this course, using Course administration > Users > Enrolled users
      3. Log in as a third user, and self-enrol in the course as a student
      4. Log in as Admin and backup the course. Tick "include enrolled users", but untick "include user role assignments"
      5. Restore from this backup as a new course.
      6. Click on Participants in the new course - no users should be listed.
      7. Click on Users > Enrolled users - no users should be listed.

      Show
      1. As Admin, create a course, and enable the student self-enrolment method 2. Manually add another user as a Teacher in this course, using Course administration > Users > Enrolled users 3. Log in as a third user, and self-enrol in the course as a student 4. Log in as Admin and backup the course. Tick "include enrolled users", but untick "include user role assignments" 5. Restore from this backup as a new course. 6. Click on Participants in the new course - no users should be listed. 7. Click on Users > Enrolled users - no users should be listed.
    • Workaround:
      Hide

      Manually remove enrolled users after restore is complete.

      Show
      Manually remove enrolled users after restore is complete.
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_21_STABLE

      Description

      The "include user role assignments" tickbox in backup/restore does not seem to affect whether role assignments are included in the backup. Role assignments are always included, despite messages during restore to the contrary.

      === Steps to reproduce ===

      1. As Admin, create a course, and enable the student self-enrolment method
      2. Manually add another user as a Teacher in this course, using Course administration > Users > Enrolled users
      3. Log in as a third user, and self-enrol in the course as a student
      4. Log in as Admin and backup the course. Tick "include enrolled users", but untick "include user role assignments" [If "include enrolled users" were unticked, then "include user role assignments" would be greyed out, as expected.]
      5. Restore from this backup as a new course. The "Include user role assignments" option will appear as a red cross.
      6. Click on Participants in the new course - both the Teacher and Student are present and correct.
      7. Click on Users > Enrolled users - both the Teacher and Student are present and correct with their original enrolment methods attached.

      === Expected behaviour ===

      No users should be shown in the Participants list nor in the Enrolled Users list.

      === Actual behaviour ===

      All roles and enrolment methods originally assigned are still in place.

      NB: I have verified that no category or system level roles were assigned to either user.

        Attachments

        1. 29466_enrolled_after.png
          29466_enrolled_after.png
          206 kB
        2. 29466_enrolled_before.png
          29466_enrolled_before.png
          206 kB
        3. 29466_restore.png
          29466_restore.png
          207 kB
        4. backup-moodle2-course-bkup-20110928-0920.mbz
          37 kB
        5. Image1.gif
          Image1.gif
          60 kB

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                2 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved: