Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-42501

Grades repopulate for previous students even after course reset

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide
      1. Visit Course > Reset.
      2. Expand Gradebook section.
      3. Make sure there's a help icon for Delete all items and categories with the following text:

        If ticked, all categories and grade items which were manually added to the gradebook will be deleted, together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Only grade items associated with activities will remain.

      4. Make sure there's a help icon for Delete all grades with the following text:

        If ticked, all grade items which were manually added to the gradebook will be deleted, together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Only grade items associated with activities will remain.

      Show
      Visit Course > Reset. Expand Gradebook section. Make sure there's a help icon for Delete all items and categories with the following text: If ticked, all categories and grade items which were manually added to the gradebook will be deleted, together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Only grade items associated with activities will remain. Make sure there's a help icon for Delete all grades with the following text: If ticked, all grade items which were manually added to the gradebook will be deleted, together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Only grade items associated with activities will remain.
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_24_STABLE, MOODLE_25_STABLE, MOODLE_26_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_27_STABLE, MOODLE_28_STABLE
    • Pull from Repository:
    • Pull Master Branch:
      MDL-42501-master
    • Sprint:
      BACKEND Sprint 19
    • Issue size:
      Medium

      Description

      I have had multiple instructors complain that even after a proper course reset, students who were previously enrolled in the course have had grades recovered. This is without "Restore old grades if possible" checked. I've only noticed this with the Assignment activity.

      To reproduce:

      1) In a Moodle course, enroll a test student
      2) Create an assignment activity
      3) Within the assignment activity, give the test student a grade
      4) Perform a course reset, ensuring that unenroll students and delete assignments and grades are selected
      5) Check to ensure your student is unenrolled and there are no grades in the gradebook
      6) Re-enroll the test student, making sure that "Recover old grades if possible" is UNCHECKED
      7) Check the gradebook to see the old grade populated

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              lameze Simey Lameze
              Reporter:
              daniel.parker Daniel Parker
              Peer reviewer:
              Frédéric Massart
              Integrator:
              Dan Poltawski
              Tester:
              Zachary Durber
              Participants:
              Component watchers:
              Adrian Greeve, Jake Dallimore, Mathew May, Mihail Geshoski, Peter Dias, Amaia Anabitarte, Carlos Escobedo, Ferran Recio, Sara Arjona (@sarjona), Víctor Déniz Falcón, Adrian Greeve, Jake Dallimore, Mathew May, Mihail Geshoski, Peter Dias
              Votes:
              4 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              11 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved:
                Fix Release Date:
                12/Jan/15