Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-45777

Warning when deleting assessment with student submissions

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Improvement
    • Status: Open
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 2.5.5, 2.6.3, 2.7
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Assignment
    • Labels:
    • Database:
      Any
    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide

      1. Create an assignment on a course.
      2. Submit several assessments.
      3. Go to delete the assessment.
      4. Dialogue box appears "Are you sure you want to delete X?"

      Show
      1. Create an assignment on a course. 2. Submit several assessments. 3. Go to delete the assessment. 4. Dialogue box appears "Are you sure you want to delete X?"
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_25_STABLE, MOODLE_26_STABLE, MOODLE_27_STABLE

      Description

      Issue
      It is too easy for a teacher to accidentally delete an assignment activity that holds submissions from students and potential grades. It would be useful to be warned explicitly when deleting assessments that have some student submissions, to prevent mishaps. While this issue talks about the assignment activity this improvement could be extended to other activities with student entries (such as quiz with attempts, glossary with entries, forum with posts etc).

      Current Behaviour

      • Teacher creates and assignment and students submit by uploading documents.
      • The teacher may or may not grade the assignments.
      • Teacher clicks the delete icon by accident
      • Moodle displays the "Are you sure you want to delete X?" dialogue box
      • Teacher automatically clicks 'OK' (as many people do) without reading the dialogue box message
      • The assignment, all student submissions and any grading is completely deleted

      Requested behaviour

      • Teacher creates and assignment and students submit by uploading documents.
      • The teacher may or may not grade the assignments.
      • Teacher clicks the delete icon
      • Moodle checks to see if there are any student submissions
        • IF NO SUBMISSIONS : Moodle displays the "Are you sure you want to delete X?" dialogue box
        • IF SUBMISSIONS : Moodle displays a more explicit message with additional options "You are attempting to delete X however it has student submissions. Are you sure you would like to delete X?" (with options of No/No - Hide X/Yes)
          • IF YES : Moodle displays the "Are you absolutely sure you want to delete X and it's associated data?" dialogue box

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            • Votes:
              9 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              14 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated: