Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-45934

Course backup with Completion Tracking enabled restores into same course with Completion Tracking disabled

    Details

    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide
      1. Make sure completion tracking is enabled on the site.
      2. Create a course with completion tracking enabled
      3. Make a backup of the course with default settings.
      4. Save that backup onto your computer
      5. Restore the backup into the same (original) course, choosing to delete the contents of the existing course. Ensure the set 'Overwrite course configuration' to 'No' on Stag 4. Schema part of restore process.
      6. VERIFY: Go to course settings page and note that completion tracking is enabled
      7. Disable completion tracking
      8. VERIFY: Restore the backup file you saved into the same course again, verify completion tracking remains disabled
      9. Make a new course - with completion tracking disabled
      10. Restore the saved backup file to your new course, choosing to delete course contents. Ensure the set 'Overwrite course configuration' to 'No' on Stage 4. Schema part of restore process.
      11. VERIFY: Go to course settings page and note that completion tracking remains disabled
      Show
      Make sure completion tracking is enabled on the site. Create a course with completion tracking enabled Make a backup of the course with default settings. Save that backup onto your computer Restore the backup into the same (original) course, choosing to delete the contents of the existing course. Ensure the set 'Overwrite course configuration' to 'No' on Stag 4. Schema part of restore process. VERIFY: Go to course settings page and note that completion tracking is enabled Disable completion tracking VERIFY: Restore the backup file you saved into the same course again, verify completion tracking remains disabled Make a new course - with completion tracking disabled Restore the saved backup file to your new course, choosing to delete course contents. Ensure the set 'Overwrite course configuration' to 'No' on Stage 4. Schema part of restore process. VERIFY: Go to course settings page and note that completion tracking remains disabled
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_26_STABLE, MOODLE_30_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_29_STABLE, MOODLE_30_STABLE
    • Pull Master Branch:
      MDL-45934-master

      Description

      When a backup of a course that has completion tracking enabled is restored into the same course, the course has completion tracking disabled after the restore.

      Steps to reproduce:

      1. Make sure completion tracking is enabled on the site.
      2. Create a course with completion tracking enabled for the course.
      3. Create at least one activity that uses completion tracking.
      4. Make a backup of the course with default settings.
      5. Restore the backup as a new course.
      6. In the new course, edit the course settings and note that completion tracking is enabled. This is expected.
      7. Go back to the original course and restore the backup into the same (original) course, choosing to delete the contents of the existing course.
      8. Access the course settings page and note that completion tracking is disabled. It is expected that it would be enabled.

      Workaround: Completion tracking can be enabled manually and the completion settings on the individual activities will be maintained.

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                2 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Fix Release Date:
                  21/Dec/15