Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-47526

deleting a grouping does not un-assign it from a topic/section

    XMLWordPrintable

Details

    • Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Minor
    • Resolution: Won't Do
    • 2.6.4
    • BACKEND
    • Groups
    • MOODLE_26_STABLE

    Description

      If a section/topic is restricted to a grouping and that grouping gets deleted, the topic still appears to be restricted to the grouping.
      To replicate:
      Create a grouping called temp_group.
      Edit the last topic. In the Restrict access section, select the grouping you just created in the 'Grouping access' drop down box
      Leave all other settings as default. Save changes
      Topic should now display 'Restricted (completely hidden, no message): Available only to grouping temp_group.'
      Delete the Grouping you just created
      The last topic still says 'Restricted (completely hidden, no message): Available only to grouping temp_group.'
      If you Delete the last topic and then add a new topic it will still display 'Restricted (completely hidden, no message): Available only to grouping temp_group.'
      If you edit the topic, the grouping is no longer in visible in the'Grouping access' drop down box.

      The work around...
      create a grouping called 'temp'
      create the same no. of topics that were there previously
      edit each topic and assign temp grouping to it, save it, and then unassign the group
      delete the sections just created
      delete the grouping.

      Attachments

        Issue Links

          Activity

            People

              Unassigned Unassigned
              ccaajoa Jo Matthews
              David Woloszyn, Huong Nguyen, Jake Dallimore, Meirza, Michael Hawkins, Raquel Ortega, Safat Shahin, Stevani Andolo
              Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              3 Start watching this issue

              Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: