Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-47793

Unable to reset "revealidentities" in course reset

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide
      1. Set up an assignment using blind marking
      2. Log in as a student and submit
      3. Log in as teacher and grade submission
      4. Click "reveal student identities"
      5. Go to course reset and select both "delete all grades" and "delete all submissions" (in assignments), and run reset
      6. Confirm that the submissions and grades have been removed, and that the "reveal student identities" is again available in the course admin menu
      Show
      Set up an assignment using blind marking Log in as a student and submit Log in as teacher and grade submission Click "reveal student identities" Go to course reset and select both "delete all grades" and "delete all submissions" (in assignments), and run reset Confirm that the submissions and grades have been removed, and that the "reveal student identities" is again available in the course admin menu
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_26_STABLE, MOODLE_27_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_26_STABLE, MOODLE_27_STABLE
    • Pull Master Branch:

      Description

      When a user is doing a course reset to prepare a course for reuse, any assignments using blind marking are left with the real student identities revealed, and there is no way to "re-hide" them.

      This effectively means that blind marking assignments cannot be reused.

      It would be useful if either:

      • there were a setting in the "assignments" section of the course reset to explicitly allow student identities to be hidden again, or
      • for blind marking assignments, when both "delete all submissions" (under assignments) and "delete all grades" are chosen on the reset form, the student identities were automatically hidden

      This is related to, but not the same as, issue MDL-43796, which is about changing this setting on backup / restore or duplicating activities. There is one big difference though - with backup and restore it's easy to see scenarios where you may want to transfer this setting as-is, but it's very difficult to think of a scenario where you would reset assignments for reuse but not want to hide the student identities again.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                4 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Fix Release Date:
                  10/Nov/14