Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-51257

Messaging screen does not indicate when a message is not sent

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide

      Prerequisites:
      Make sure you have a course with some participants

      Testing the send message button

      1. As admin navigate to the participants list for your course
      2. Select a few students
      3. Using the "With selected users..." dropdown choose "Send a message"
      4. When redirected to the "Message course users" page you should see "Send message" next to "Preview"
      5. Enter some message text and press the send message button to verify it works.

      Testing leaving the page

      1. As admin navigate to the participants list for your course
      2. Select a few students
      3. Using the "With selected users..." dropdown choose "Send a message"
      4. Enter some message content
      5. Attempt to navigate away from the page by clicking a link elsewhere or refreshing
      6. You should receive a warning telling you your changes will be lost
      7. Repeat steps 1-4
      8. Press the preview button
      9. You should not receive the warning and see your message preview.
      Show
      Prerequisites: Make sure you have a course with some participants Testing the send message button As admin navigate to the participants list for your course Select a few students Using the "With selected users..." dropdown choose "Send a message" When redirected to the "Message course users" page you should see "Send message" next to "Preview" Enter some message text and press the send message button to verify it works. Testing leaving the page As admin navigate to the participants list for your course Select a few students Using the "With selected users..." dropdown choose "Send a message" Enter some message content Attempt to navigate away from the page by clicking a link elsewhere or refreshing You should receive a warning telling you your changes will be lost Repeat steps 1-4 Press the preview button You should not receive the warning and see your message preview.
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_29_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_29_STABLE, MOODLE_30_STABLE
    • Pull Master Branch:
      MDL-51257-master
    • Sprint:
      Team Both Sprint 1, 3.1 Stable Sprint 1
    • Issue size:
      Medium

      Description

      There is no warning when leaving the message screen without sending a message.

      Replication steps:

      1. Log in as admin/teacher
      2. Navigate to a course that has users
      3. Go to the Participants page
      4. Select a number of users and use the drop-down to send a message
      5. Add message text
      6. Click in the navigation to leave the page
      7. Restart the message sending via the Participants page
      8. Add/modify text
      9. Click the Preview button
      10. Click in the navigation to leave the page

      Expected result:

      • There should a warning that the message has not been sent when leaving the page without sending

      Actual result:

      • No warning is given, users are confused when the message is kept on subsequent visits to the page (Atto auto-save)

      This was a blocker for 1/6 participants and a lesser issue for one more.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                1 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                7 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Fix Release Date:
                  11/Jan/16