Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-51292

Message text lost when user clicks "View conversation"

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 2.9, 3.0
    • Fix Version/s: 2.9.3
    • Component/s: Messages, Usability
    • Labels:
    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide
      1. Log in as teacher/admin
      2. Navigate to a course
      3. Click on Participants or Users
      4. Click on the name of an individual student
      5. On the profile page, click the Message button
      6. On the pop-up message dialogue that appears, add some message text (don't click Send message)
      7. Click the "View conversation" link
      8. Verify that a message is displayed informing the user that they will lose their form changes
      9. Repeat steps 2-6
      10. Close the modal
      11. Verify that a message is displayed informing the user that they will lose their form changes
      12. Confirm you want to close the modal
      13. Re-open the modal and enter some text
      14. Close the modal
      15. Verify that the warning is still being displayed and confirm you want to close the modal
      16. Refresh or navigate away from the profile page
      17. Verify a message is not displayed informing the user about their changes
      18. Repeat steps 2-6
      19. Close the modal
      20. This time press cancel on the confirmation dialogue
      21. Verify that the modal remains visible
      22. Repeat steps 2-5
      23. Enter no text
      24. Close the modal
      25. Verify no warnings are displayed
      Show
      Log in as teacher/admin Navigate to a course Click on Participants or Users Click on the name of an individual student On the profile page, click the Message button On the pop-up message dialogue that appears, add some message text (don't click Send message) Click the "View conversation" link Verify that a message is displayed informing the user that they will lose their form changes Repeat steps 2-6 Close the modal Verify that a message is displayed informing the user that they will lose their form changes Confirm you want to close the modal Re-open the modal and enter some text Close the modal Verify that the warning is still being displayed and confirm you want to close the modal Refresh or navigate away from the profile page Verify a message is not displayed informing the user about their changes Repeat steps 2-6 Close the modal This time press cancel on the confirmation dialogue Verify that the modal remains visible Repeat steps 2-5 Enter no text Close the modal Verify no warnings are displayed
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_29_STABLE, MOODLE_30_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_29_STABLE
    • Pull Master Branch:
      MDL-51292-master
    • Sprint:
      Team Both Sprint 1

      Description

      When sending a message to an individual user, there is a link to view the past conversation with this individual user. If a user clicks that, they are taken to the page showing the past history of the conversation, but the content of any current message is lost. Users may click this link deliberately (assuming their current message would be maintained) or mistakenly (thinking it will send the current message).

      • If there is any text added to the message pop-up dialogue, carry the text from the message dialogue to the new message box on the conversation history page.
      • Only show the link if there has been past conversation between the current user and the person they are sending a message to.
      • The name of the link should also be reconsidered. Perhaps "View conversation history" would be more relevant.

      Replication steps:

      1. Log in as teacher/admin
      2. Navigate to a course
      3. Click on Participants or Users
      4. Click on the name of an individual student
      5. On the profile page, click the Message button
      6. On the pop-up message dialogue that appears, add some message text (don't click Send message).
      7. Click the "View conversation" link

      Expected result:

      • User is warned message will be lost or message will be preserved somehow.

      Actual result:

      • User is taken to message history page and current message is lost.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                5 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Fix Release Date:
                  9/Nov/15