Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-64804

Enrol Users confusion over cohort enrolment

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Improvement
    • Status: Open
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 3.5.4
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Enrolments, Usability
    • Labels:

      Description

      In the first week of school since upgrading to 3.5 stream, we've now had 3 instances of all Staff being manually enrolled accidentally to a teacher's course.

      I believe the Enrol Users dialog is confusing and should be improved from a user experience view. It is not clear that 'Select users' and 'Select cohorts' are in fact options and only one should be filled out.

      The course logs show that the teacher manually enrolled all 320 staff into their course.

      I suspect they are intending to manually enrol one other teacher to join their course, and believe they are being asked to select first the user, then the cohort from which that user belongs, then whether to make them a teacher or student role.

      Instead if they choose both a user and the Staff cohort, they enrol all staff into their course via the cohort, requiring manual cleanup.

      The Enrol Users dialog should be updated to visually indicate that only one of users or cohorts should normally be chosen.

      See screenshot below showing the problem.

       

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                5 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                6 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated: