Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-66021

'Delete and then restore' doesn't delete when using asynchronous restore

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide

      Additional unit tests provided.

      Prerequisites:

      1. Enable the ability to asynchronously backup (and restore) courses. Use the instructions here
      2. Create a course with an assignment and forum taking default values.
      3. Back up the course with default settings following instructions here
      4. Download the backup file when completed.

      Instructions:

      1. As an admin, go to the course created.
      2. Go to the restore page by following the instructions here
      3. Select the backup created in Prerequisites#3 OR upload the downloaded file from Prerequisites#4
      4. During the restore sequence, on the 'Destination' step, choose to 'Delete the contents of this course and then restore'
      5. Proceed through the rest of the steps taking the defaults until finally the restore operation has been triggered
      6. Once the restore has completed, return to the restored course
      7. Confirm the original content in the destination course is deleted and the content from the restore file is added

      Repeat the test with synchronous backup/restore by resetting Prerequisites#1 back to disabled.

      Show
      Additional unit tests provided. Prerequisites: Enable the ability to asynchronously backup (and restore) courses. Use the instructions  here Create a course with an assignment and forum taking default values. Back up the course with default settings following instructions here Download the backup file when completed. Instructions: As an admin, go to the course created. Go to the restore page by following the instructions here Select the backup created in Prerequisites#3 OR upload the downloaded file from Prerequisites#4 During the restore sequence, on the 'Destination' step, choose to 'Delete the contents of this course and then restore' Proceed through the rest of the steps taking the defaults until finally the restore operation has been triggered Once the restore has completed, return to the restored course Confirm the original content in the destination course is deleted and the content from the restore file is added Repeat the test with synchronous backup/restore by resetting Prerequisites#1 back to disabled.
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_37_STABLE, MOODLE_38_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_37_STABLE
    • Pull from Repository:
    • Pull 3.7 Branch:
    • Pull Master Branch:
      MDL-66021-master

      Description

      Steps to reproduce:

      • Enable the ability to asynchronously backup (and restore) courses
      • Back up a course with some content
      • Restore the course backup into the same course, or into any other course with some existing content
      • During the restore sequence choose to 'delete and then restore'
      • Once the restore has completed, return to the restored course

      Expected results:

      • The original content in the destination course is deleted and the content from the restore file is added

      Actual results:

      • The original content in the destination course is NOT deleted, and the content from the restore file is MERGED in

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            • Votes:
              4 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              6 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved:
                Fix Release Date:
                9/Sep/19

                Time Tracking

                Estimated:
                Original Estimate - 0 minutes
                0m
                Remaining:
                Remaining Estimate - 0 minutes
                0m
                Logged:
                Time Spent - 6 hours
                6h