Affects Version/s: 3.7.1
Fix Version/s: None
Component/s: User Tours
When upgrading Moodle versions, it seems like shipped user tours that have been previously disabled can be automatically re-enabled, presumably when the actual content of the tour has been updated to reflect new Moodle changes.
It is also possible for new tours to be added (and enabled) automatically for functionality added since the upgrade.
While this is useful for vanilla Moodle installations, some institutions prefer to have more control over the tours and would like an option to keep these disabled. I am not suggesting to have this behaviour changed entirely, as I do understand the usefulness of new tour information after an upgrade. However, I think an additional setting would be useful for institutions who want to have more control over these tours.
Add a check box to the user tours page with help text, perhaps called 'Lock shipped tours'. Functionality is two-fold:
- Cause all shipped user tours to retain the pre-upgrade value for the 'tour is enabled' flag. i.e. If it was disabled, it will still be disabled after an upgrade. Tour content and settings are still updated as usual - only the 'tour is enabled' setting remains unmodified.
- Any tours that are newly added during an upgrade are disabled by default i.e. 'tour is enabled' unticked.
Happy for anyone to make any other suggestions/changes as needed.