When using feedback activity in anonymous mode, notification email about new feedback submission is sent to all users with mod/feedback:receivemail capability, regardless of their group assignment or whether they have the moodle/site:accessallgroups capability granted.
Notification about new feedback submission is sent only to users which:
- Have the role with mod/feedback:receivemail capability granted
- AND either:
- There are no groups in the course to which the feedback activity belongs
- OR they belong to the same group as the feedback submitter
- OR their role has the moodle/site:accessallgroups capability granted, and therefore they do not need to belong to the same group.
Regardless of the moodle/site:accessallgroups capability setting and group membership, all users with capability to receive feedback notifications do receive email when feedback from user in any group is received.
This happens only for anonymous feedbacks — non-anonymous feedbacks respect the group membership and send emails only to the same-group notification receivers, or the ones that can see all groups.
Firstly, the expected behaviour can be successfully observed in feedbacks that are not anonymous. So only the anonymous ones do not respect group organisation of the course.
Secondly, if this was meant to be a security measure (i.e., because the feedback mode is anonymous, notification receivers shouldn't know to which group the feedback sender belongs), it does not make sense, because feedbacks are still properly sorted into groups when logging into Moodle site.
Thirdly, these emails are confusing to users receiving them. After clicking on the links supplied in the email, such user cannot see the submitted feedback, as it belongs to another group which he cannot see – in some cases leading to a situation, where empty list of feedbacks is shown to him.