Perhaps this one is expected behavior, but I believe that the members of a group should match the members of a cohort using the cohort sync method - this is not the case.
- Site administration > Plugins > Enrollments > Cohort sync and set 'disable course enrollment and remove roles'.
- Create two cohorts, COHORT A and COHORT B at system level and add a user to both.
- In a course add the cohort sync method for both cohorts making sure to choose 'create new group', call them GROUP A and GROUP B.
- Check that the user has two enrollments on the participants page, and is a member of two groups.
- Remove the user from COHORT A.
- Check the participants page in the course and confirm the user is no longer a member of GROUP A.
The user's enrollment for cohort sync for COHORT A is suspended and their group membership of GROUP A is removed.
The user's enrollment for cohort sync for COHORT A is suspended and their group membership of GROUP A is NOT removed.