Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-71684

Deleting information from User profile field set as required prevents student from seeing anything except profile page

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_311_STABLE

      Description

      1. Create a custom profile field and set it to "required."
      2. Do not lock the field.
      3. Enroll a student in a course.
      4. Student deletes the data from the custom profile field.
      5. Student logs out.
      6. Student logs in and can no longer see anything except his/her own profile.

      I had set up the custom user field when using an older version of Moodle (3.8?). A single student (so far) experienced this problem, as did I when, with the student's permission, I used the log-in-as function. All of the student's data were intact.

      I created another profile for the student to enable work to continue. Then I compared the data in the "xxx_user" field in the database for the two records, but all were the same. Next I compared permission for the "two" users, but all were identical. Finally, I compared profile pages for the users and noticed there was no entry for the required custom user profile field in the older account. I next changed that custom field to not required, and the old account worked.

      (I am afraid I have no idea if this counts as a bug or not.)

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            Assignee:
            Unassigned Unassigned
            Reporter:
            molloy H. P. L. Molloy
            Participants:
            Component watchers:
            Amaia Anabitarte, Carlos Escobedo, Ferran Recio, Ilya Tregubov, Sara Arjona (@sarjona)
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            2 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved: