Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-72798

Course overview loses functionality if user does not have permission editownprofile

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Open
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 3.10.7
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Blocks, Dashboard (My home)
    • Labels:
      None
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_310_STABLE

      Description

      If the permission editownprofile is disabled, users lose the ability to remove courses from view or return courses to view within the Course overview on their dashboard.
      The filter they select for view is also no longer updated in the user_preferences table meaning whatever their last view was before losing the permission will always show after refreshing or visiting dashboard again.

      Users are still able to favourite/star and unstar courses so it seems like they should be able to remove and return courses to view. 

       

      Steps:

      1. Sign in as user with role student.
      2. Upon landing on dashboard, click "..." and remove from view on desired course within course overview.
      3. Change filter to "Removed from view"
      4. Confirm course is removed from view
      5. click "..." and return to view on desired course
      6. Change filter to "All(except removed from view)" 
      7. Confirm course has been returned from view
      8. Sign in as administrator and edit the student role removing permission editownprofile
      1. Sign in as user with role student.
      2. Upon landing on dashboard, click "..." and remove from view on desired course within course overview. - The course disappears as if it has been removed while you are still on this page
      3. Change filter to "Removed from view"
      4. Course does not appear in removed from view
      5. click "..." and return to view on a course which was previously removed from view - The course disappears as if it has been returned to the regular view
      6. Change filter to "All(except removed from view)"
      7. Confirm course has not re-appeared in regular view
      1. Change filter to "Removed from view" or other
      2. Refresh
      3. Confirm that the filter has been reset to whatever was selected before permission editownprofile was removed
      1. Sign in as administrator, edit student role and allow permission editownprofile
      2. student is again able to remove from view, return to view, or change filter of course overview with persistence.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            Assignee:
            Unassigned Unassigned
            Reporter:
            Amdinistrator Benjamin McCloskey
            Participants:
            Component watchers:
            Adrian Greeve, Jake Dallimore, Mathew May, Mihail Geshoski, Peter Dias, Sujith Haridasan, Amaia Anabitarte, Carlos Escobedo, Ferran Recio, Ilya Tregubov, Sara Arjona (@sarjona)
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            1 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              Created:
              Updated: