Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle'
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-76757

Cannot easily delete all versions of a question

    XMLWordPrintable

Details

    • MOODLE_400_STABLE, MOODLE_401_STABLE
    • MOODLE_401_STABLE, MOODLE_402_STABLE
    • MDL-76757-401
    • MDL-76757-402
    • MDL-76757-master
    • Hide

      Create a question in use:

      • Login as admin.
      • Go to course -> create activity quiz -> Navigate to question -> add questions (any type)
      • Edit that question (change name or something for question to have more than 1 version).
      • Delete question

      Create a question not in use:

      • Login as admin.
      • Go to course -> Navigate to More -> Navigate to Question bank.
      • Create new question (any type).
      • Edit that question (change name or something for question to have more than 1 version)
      • Delete question

      Expected:

      • The question will be deleted completely.
      • In the question bank page when we delete a question have more than one version it will delete all version its have.  And In the history page we just delete one version we have selected.
      • For cases where the user wants to delete 1 question in the question bank page:
        Delete question?
        This will delete the following question and all its versions:
      • For cases where the user wants to delete more than one question in the question bank page:
        Delete questions?
        This will delete the following questions and all their versions:
      • For cases where the user wants to delete 1 question in the history page:
        Delete selected version?
        This will delete selected versions of the following question:
      • For cases where the user wants to delete more than 1 question in the history page:
        Delete selected versions?
        This will delete selected versions of the following question:
      • At question in use:  In the confirmation dialog we should see:

                (*Denotes questions which can't be deleted because they are in use. Instead,
                  they will be hidden in the question bank unless you select 'Show old questions'.)

      • At question not in use:  In the confirmation dialog we should not see:
        (*Denotes questions which can't be deleted because they are in use. Instead, they will be hidden in the question bank unless you select 'Show old questions'.)
      • And the name of the question in the confirmation dialog will have a version like the example below:
        e.g. If we delete the question named "Question" and that question has 2 versions. So when we delete we should see the confirmation dialog show question name like: Question v1, Question v2.

       

       

      Show
      Create a question in use : Login as admin. Go to course -> create activity quiz -> Navigate to question -> add questions (any type) Edit that question (change name or something for question to have more than 1 version). Delete question Create a question not in use: Login as admin. Go to course -> Navigate to More -> Navigate to Question bank. Create new question (any type). Edit that question (change name or something for question to have more than 1 version) Delete question Expected: The question will be deleted completely. In the question bank page when we delete a question have more than one version it will delete all version its have.   And In the history page we just delete one version we have selected. For cases where the user wants to delete 1 question in the question bank page: Delete question? This will delete the following question and all its versions: For cases where the user wants to delete more than one question in the question bank page: Delete questions? This will delete the following questions and all their versions: For cases where the user wants to delete 1 question in the history page: Delete selected version? This will delete selected versions of the following question: For cases where the user wants to delete more than 1 question in the history page: Delete selected versions? This will delete selected versions of the following question: At question in use:   In the confirmation dialog we should see:           (*Denotes questions which can't be deleted because they are in use. Instead,             they will be hidden in the question bank unless you select 'Show old questions'.) At question not in use:  In the confirmation dialog we should not see: (*Denotes questions which can't be deleted because they are in use. Instead, they will be hidden in the question bank unless you select 'Show old questions'.) And the name of the question in the confirmation dialog will have a version like the example below: e.g. If we delete the question named "Question" and that question has 2 versions. So when we delete we should see the confirmation dialog show question name like: Question v1, Question v2.    

    Description

      If we have a question in the question bank (Ex: True/False) and the version of that question is V3.

      The current behaviour is Question bank will remove the current latest version and fall back to the previous version.

      Ex: If I try to delete the question from V3, the Question bank will delete the V3 version and fall back the question to V2. I need to repeat the same steps to remove the question completely.

       

      Imagine if we have a question that contains 100 versions, we need to repeat the steps ~100 times to delete the question.

       

      My idea is we can keep the current behaviour and rename it to something like: Delete the current version of question. We will create a new action menu called Delete question to delete the question completely.

       

      Also, when we try to delete the question completely, the confirmation dialogue could list all of the versions of that question and also provide the link to preview each version.

      Attachments

        Issue Links

          Activity

            People

              danghieu1407 Hieu Nguyen Dang
              huongn@moodle.com Huong Nguyen
              Tim Hunt Tim Hunt
              Huong Nguyen Huong Nguyen
              Ron Carl Alfon Yu Ron Carl Alfon Yu
              Votes:
              1 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              14 Start watching this issue

              Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved:

                Time Tracking

                  Estimated:
                  Original Estimate - 0 minutes
                  0m
                  Remaining:
                  Remaining Estimate - 0 minutes
                  0m
                  Logged:
                  Time Spent - 6 hours, 25 minutes
                  6h 25m

                  Clockify

                    Error rendering 'clockify-timesheets-time-tracking-reports:timer-sidebar'. Please contact your Jira administrators.