Moodle
  1. Moodle
  2. MDL-8004

Distinguish between archived/inactive courses and hidden courses in My Courses block

    Details

    • Type: New Feature New Feature
    • Status: Open
    • Priority: Minor Minor
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 1.6.3
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Blocks
    • Labels:
      None
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_16_STABLE
    • Rank:
      3428

      Description

      I would like to be able to archive and make courses inactive but still accessible/visible to the students. Currently once a course is hidden it is no longer accessible to the students. I would like previous semesters work to be accessible to the students via a category called Course Archives in which I could place subcategories for each of the semesters. I envison needing to create a function is_course_archived ($courseid) boolean that checks to see if that particular course is a member of the Course Archives category. If it is, then an active link to that course is not displayed. Instead, a separate function my_archived_courses ($userid) could return a tree of the Course Archives category allowing navigation to the archived/inactive courses from previous semesters. This would allow an administrator to simply move a semesters worth of material in to the archive folder.

      See http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=60993#277671 for discussion on this.

        Activity

        Hide
        Anthony Borrow added a comment -

        Also related to the discussion at http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=59947

        Show
        Anthony Borrow added a comment - Also related to the discussion at http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=59947
        Hide
        Will Taylor added a comment -

        This would be a tremendously helpful feature - would love to see it.

        Show
        Will Taylor added a comment - This would be a tremendously helpful feature - would love to see it.
        Hide
        Rudolf Scheurer added a comment -

        This "bug" is penalizing people that really intensively use Moodle ==> would love to see this feature, too!!

        Show
        Rudolf Scheurer added a comment - This "bug" is penalizing people that really intensively use Moodle ==> would love to see this feature, too!!
        Hide
        Martin Dougiamas added a comment - - edited

        Could not this be done almost entirely using roles?

        1) Set up a course archive category
        2) Go to the category -> Assign roles -> Override roles
        3) Change the Authenticated User role to PROHIBIT a bunch of writing capability (anything you don't want them to do, such as posting to forums etc).
        4) Move your courses in there any time you like, keeping enrolments as they were before.

        Show
        Martin Dougiamas added a comment - - edited Could not this be done almost entirely using roles? 1) Set up a course archive category 2) Go to the category -> Assign roles -> Override roles 3) Change the Authenticated User role to PROHIBIT a bunch of writing capability (anything you don't want them to do, such as posting to forums etc). 4) Move your courses in there any time you like, keeping enrolments as they were before.
        Hide
        Martin Dougiamas added a comment -

        Actually, I'm wrong here, you can't override the Authenticated User role that way. You'd need to create some new role like "Archived Course User" and assign it to everyone at that category level. This isn't as nice, obviously, because you need to maintain the assigned roles manually. But possible in 1.7 and later.

        Perhaps we just need a new course field that teachers can switch on the Course Settings page, next to the "Hidden" flag, that would switch "archived" status on and off. When archived the course could be listed differently as described above (regardless of the category it's part of, though you could of course move them all into one category).

        We could also look at searching for such courses when setting up permissions and removing some of the write permissions from those courses.

        Show
        Martin Dougiamas added a comment - Actually, I'm wrong here, you can't override the Authenticated User role that way. You'd need to create some new role like "Archived Course User" and assign it to everyone at that category level. This isn't as nice, obviously, because you need to maintain the assigned roles manually. But possible in 1.7 and later. Perhaps we just need a new course field that teachers can switch on the Course Settings page, next to the "Hidden" flag, that would switch "archived" status on and off. When archived the course could be listed differently as described above (regardless of the category it's part of, though you could of course move them all into one category). We could also look at searching for such courses when setting up permissions and removing some of the write permissions from those courses.

          People

          • Votes:
            14 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            3 Start watching this issue

            Dates

            • Created:
              Updated: