- Log in as an admin and create a backup of a course with users, custom enrolment methods (for example "self"), activities, blocks etc.
- Go to Site Administration > Courses > General restore defaults and change some of the settings. Lock some of them.
- Log out then log in as a manager and restore the backup as a new course, making sure that the defaults are applied.
- Restore the backup by merging it into an existing course and make sure that the defaults are applied.
- Repeat steps 2-4 with different General restore defaults.