Uploaded image for project: 'Moodle app'
  1. Moodle app
  2. MOBILE-2816

Feedback activity - Groups & submission results seemingly incorrect (View all participants issue)

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Testing Instructions:
      Hide

      This issue only needs to be tested in 1 device.

      1. In web, in a 3.4+ site, create a course with groups.
      2. Create the following activities using separate groups: assign, chat, database, feedback, lesson and workshop.
      3. Enrol 2 users in that course: a teacher and a non-editing teacher.
      4. In the app, login as the editing teacher.
      5. Open the assign. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default.
      6. Open the list of submissions. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default.
      7. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one.
      8. Open the chat and click "View past chat sessions". Please notice that you might need to use the chat a bit to be able to view that option.
      9. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default.
      10. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one.
      11. Open the database. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default.
      12. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one.
      13. Open the feedback and go to view responses or non-respondents. 
      14. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default.
      15. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one.
      16. Open the lesson and go to "Reports".
      17. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default.
      18. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one.
      19. Open the workshop.
      20. Check that you see a group selector (in "Workshop grades report"), it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default.
      21. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one.
      22. Now login as the non-editing teacher.
      23. Repeat steps 5-21. Now you should never see the "All participants" option, and the first group should be selected instead.
      24. Login in a 3.3 or older site with an editing teacher.
      25. Open any of the activity types previously tested, with separate groups too. Check that you don't see the "All participants" option (in 3.1-3.3 sites we cannot tell if the user can see it or not).
      Show
      This issue only needs to be tested in 1 device. In web, in a 3.4+ site, create a course with groups. Create the following activities using separate groups: assign, chat, database, feedback, lesson and workshop. Enrol 2 users in that course: a teacher and a non-editing teacher. In the app, login as the editing teacher. Open the assign. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default. Open the list of submissions. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one. Open the chat and click "View past chat sessions". Please notice that you might need to use the chat a bit to be able to view that option. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one. Open the database. Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one. Open the feedback and go to view responses or non-respondents.  Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one. Open the lesson and go to "Reports". Check that you see a group selector, it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one. Open the workshop. Check that you see a group selector (in "Workshop grades report"), it contains the "All participants" option and it's selected by default. Change groups. Check that the data displayed is the right one. Now login as the non-editing teacher. Repeat steps 5-21. Now you should never see the "All participants" option, and the first group should be selected instead. Login in a 3.3 or older site with an editing teacher. Open any of the activity types previously tested, with separate groups too. Check that you don't see the "All participants" option (in 3.1-3.3 sites we cannot tell if the user can see it or not).
    • Affected Branches:
      MOODLE_37_STABLE
    • Fixed Branches:
      MOODLE_37_STABLE
    • Sprint:
      Moodle App 3.7.1

      Description

      When on the Mobile app, viewing the results on a Feedback activity (when separate groups is enabled) the View all participants doesn't show results for all participants.
       
      I think what could be happening here is that there is some confusion/potentially a bug with "View All Participants" that is selected by default when viewing results. What's it's doing (from the examples I've seen) is simply showing you whatever the result is from the next result in the drop down list. So if the first group in the list has 1 submission entry then "View All Participants" shows 1 entry, even if there are other entries in other groups that this user has access to see. I have undertaken the following on several platforms for testing.
       
      Created 2 accounts:

      u: teacher

      • enrolled as teacher on course and added into group 1

      u: noneditingteacher

      • enrolled as non-editing teacher on course and added into group 1 AND 2

      Course:

      • Enabled separate groups at course level

      Created + enrolled 3 students. Each in newly created group.

      Group 1

      • Student
        Group 2
      • Student 2
        Group 3
      • Student 3

      Created feedback activity and added one question here.

      Logged in as each student and took this activity.

      Logged in as non editing teacher on the app (member of group 1 and group 2) and the submitted answers (total) AND value under View All Participants is 1. If I select group 1 or group 2 from the dropdown list there are clearly 2 different submissions here.

      Turning OFF "separate groups" within the course means users can view all submissions from users of any groups. Clicking into responses does not show a dropdown for view all participants/listed groups as all entries are shown together in one list.

        Attachments

        1. moodle_31.jpg
          moodle_31.jpg
          89 kB
        2. mobile_app.jpg
          mobile_app.jpg
          54 kB
        3. moodle37.jpg
          moodle37.jpg
          87 kB

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Votes:
                8 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                5 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Fix Release Date:
                  30/Aug/19